10 travel beauty essentials for the frequent traveller

Living in Australia, pretty much any trip to another country involves a long haul flight –looking fresh after a 24+ hour flight definitely requires a bit of planning.

Being the frequent travellers that we are, and a complete beauty junkie, I have my travel toiletries bag permanently packed and ready to go with travel sized essentials. It’s time to share some of my current favourites and travel tips with you.

As soon as I get on board my flight and settle in, I always remove my makeup and slather on moisturiser. My choice of makeup remover is the very gentle but super effective Bioderma Crealine H2O Solution micellaire démaquillante. A french pharmacy favourite of Beauty Editors everywhere, it is now easily available in Australia at OFFEN store.

My moisturiser addiction is the newest from the Obagi Medical range, Hydrate Luxe. It is very similar to the Hydrate moisturiser but thicker and more like a balm, so perfect to counteract the dehydrating air in the the plane cabin. Although under normal conditions it hydrates all day, on the plane I like to reapply it regularly. You can find Obagi Medical clinics here.

Obagi_Hydrate_Luxe

My other favourite Obagi Medical product is the one that permanently lives in my handbag, the Elastiderm Eye Complete Complex Serum. Its a roller ball serum of their famous wrinkle fighting eye cream, with the addition of caffeine, so it also helps combat puffiness during the flight, and its great for looking fresh and awake when you are about to disembark. Dry eyes from air travel are frequently a problem for me, so I always have Allergan Refresh Eye Drops with me. I like the individual applications as they have no preservatives and I always have some in every bag. Evian Brumisateur or Uriage Thermal Water facial spray is also a fabulous hydrator, and is great to have with you in a hot, dry climate too.

When getting ready to arrive in our destination, a quick spritz of Klorane Dry Shampoo freshens up my hair, and I clean my teeth with the adorable travel size Marvis toothpaste in Amarelli Licorice flavour also available on OFFEN. Sephora has a great selection of travel perfect roller ball perfumes, my current choice is Elizabeth and James Nirvana White. It also saves room in my bag in case I need to pick up a new perfume during my travels. I also have the mini size of Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Or, picked up in a pharmacy in Paris, for a little bit of glam on skin and hair for a night out on the trip. The original Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse is available in Australia in the mini size.

marvis box

marvis

The absolute necessity is a great sun cream, and my latest discovery is La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL 50+. It is highly recommended by Australian dermatologists for our harsh climate, its super light and invisible, and now readily available in Australia.

I asked our friend, the very glamorous Travel Photographer and Blogger, Jen Pollack Bianco (@lax2nrt) about her travel beauty essentials.

Jen PB

“I’m big on traveling with dry shampoo. The Oribe Dry Texturizing spray comes in a travel sized 2.2 oz and is unisex. It’s available at Amazon.com. I just discovered Death Valley Dry Shampoo, too, which works great if you have fine hair. It’s great when your hotel room isn’t ready when you arrive and you want to hit the ground running, but still look decent. After a long haul flight I turn airplane hair into purposely undone hair by twisting it up with Goody Simple Styles Spin Pins.”

randco_deathvalley_travelsize

There is a great selection of excellent travel size beauty products available at OFFEN store.

What are your travel beauty essentials? Tag your Instagram pictures, Twitter and Facebook posts with #roomcritic to share with us and our followers, or comment below. Let us know which ones you love and where to find them!

For real guest photos of the world’s favourite hotels and resorts, visit the RoomCritic website. For the best travel stories, tips and info on the places to stay around the world, follow our blog or ‘like’ our RoomCritic Facebook page. You’ll also find us on TwitterInstagram and Pinterest plus we have hotel lists on Foursquare.

Leave a Reply

